Chennai student emerges as winner at 3rd place in statewide elocution contest

Shriram Ilakkiya Kazhagam, the literary wing of Shriram Group, one of India’s leading non-banking financial companies, organized Thirukkural Elocution Contest 2019 for school and college students across Tamil Nadu and Puducherry. P. Thameena Daspiha of Velammal Matric Hr. Sec. School, Mogappair, won the third prize in `Junior’ category.

The State-level Thirukkural contest was conducted at three levels and witnessed an overall participation of 1695 students. 858 students participated in Junior level (Classes: 6-8), 667 in Senior level (Classes: 9-12), 170 in College level.

Preliminary and Semi-final rounds of the competition were held earlier during the months of July and August at 10 centres namely Chennai, Puducherry, Madurai, Nellai, Thiruvarur, Trichy, Coimbatore, Erode, Salem and Vellore. The Grand Finale of the competition was conducted recently at Dr. MGR-Janaki Arts & Science College for Women, Chennai. 30 finalists (one from each of the three levels and across 10 centres) selected from Semi-final round contested in the Grand Finale.

The winners list of the finale is as follows:

Junior Level:

  • First Prize: P. Harshini, Sachidananda Jothi Niketan Residential School, Kallaaru, Mettupalayam (Kovai Zone)
  • Second Prize: M. Sulfia, Al Matheena Public School, Melapalayam, Nellai (Nellai Zone)
  • Third Prize: P. Thameena Daspiha, Velammal Matric Hr. Sec. School, Mogappair (Chennai Zone)
  • Fourth Prize: S.K. Divyabharathi, Jawahar CBSE Hr. Sec. School, Neiveli (Puducherry Zone)

Senior Level

  • First Prize: R. Venkatesh, JC Hr. Sec. School, Kovai (Kovai Zone)
  • Second Prize: T. Adav Guhan, Sri Venkateshwara Matric Hr. Sec. School, Thirukokarnam, Pudukottai (Trichy Zone)
  • Third Prize: S. Rizwana Parveen, Little Flower Model School, Thirunelveli Town (Nellai Zone)
  • Fourth Prize: A. Harsha, Vivekananda Vidhyalaya Matric Hr. Sec. School, Thirukovilur (Salem Zone)

College Level

  • First Prize: T. Thangamuthu, Govt. Arts College, Salem (Salem Zone)
  • Second Prize: A. Daniel Wilson, Central University, Thiruvarur (Thiruvarur Zone)
  • Third Prize: S. Arun Venkat, Bishop Heber College, Trichy (Trichy Zone)
  • Fourth Prize: V. Harish, Sri Krishna College of Engineering & Technology, Kovai (Kovai Zone)

First prize winners were honored with a cash award of Rs. 10,000, along with shield, trophy and certificate. Second Prize winners were given away Rs. 7,500 cash award, trophy and certificate. Third Prize winners were felicitated with Rs. 5,000 cash award, trophy and certificate. Fourth Prize winners were given away Rs. 2,500 cash award, trophy and certificate.

Medals and certificates were given as consolation prize to other participants.

Author: nammamadrasnews

Leave a Reply